Re "Lighter matzo soup for Passover" (Food & Wine, March 20): Once again The Bee has done a poor job of checking the accuracy of its articles. We are only a few days away from the start of Passover, and the Bee not only prints only one Seder recipe, the one it prints isn't even kosher for Passover, although it is clearly presented as such.
Ashkenazi Jews (the majority of the local Jewish population) do not eat beans or peas during Passover; this is basic information. If you do not have anyone on your staff who can fact-check Jewish content articles, then you should check with a local rabbi before printing something like this. It shows a disrespect for the Jewish community to be so careless. What's next -- baked ham for Chanukah?
-- Wendy Wilson, Sacramento