Preps Names and News: Track & field athletes, marks heating up

Published: Thursday, Apr. 25, 2013 - 12:00 am | Page 6C
Last Modified: Thursday, Apr. 25, 2013 - 6:55 am

Jesuit senior Austin Mitsch ran season bests in winning the boys' 100- and 200-meter sprints at the Woody Wilson Invitational last weekend at UC Davis.

Mitsch, a Colorado scholarship signee, won the 100 in 10.67 seconds and the 200 in 21.53 (both wind-aided times).

Takkarist McKinley of Kennedy-Richmond, a Cal football recruit, finished second in both races in 10.74 and 21.69.

Cal-bound Trent Brendel of Granite Bay won the boys' 800 (1:54.70), Davis' Jack Scranton the 1,600 (4:18.53) and Whitney's Ryan Hodgens (9:31.39) the 3,200. Pleasant Grove's Richard Cooper won the long jump with a leap of 22 feet, 1 3/4 inches.

In girls events, Monterey Trail junior Ciara Levy won the 100 hurdles (14.54) and 300 hurdles (44.35), and Franklin sophomore Jorden O'Neal's winning 18-7 3/4 long jump was the 10th best in the state this season.

Bella Vista freshman Kendall Derry won the 1,600 (5:05.68) and Vista del Lago senior Madeleine Ankhelyi the 3,200 (10:54.46).

In the sprints, Franklin sophomore Chinyere Dike won the 100 (12.21) and Winters sophomore Sofia Evanoff captured the 200 (25.18).

St. Francis' Hayley Carbullido finished first in the pole vault (10-6).

Franklin won the 4x100 relay (48.94), Davis the 4x400 (3:56.14) and Bella Vista the distance medley (12:08.47).

• Center's Xavier Howell took over the state lead in the boys' high jump with a mark of 6-10 at the Del Oro Invitational last Friday.

Swimmers get ready, set to sign intentions

Fifteen members of the Sierra Marlins swim team are expected to participate in a college-signing ceremony Monday at 4 p.m. at the Folsom Aquatic Center.

They include Adam Banks, Vista del Lago, Hawaii; Bret Bonzell, Folsom, Boston College; Hannah Calton, Granite Bay, Loyola Marymount; Everett Conrad, Oak Ridge, Biola; Lauren Fitzgerald, Granite Bay, Rice; Kelsey Gasch, Folsom, Denver; Whitney Jorgensen, Roseville, Boise State; Dylan Kubick, Oak Ridge, Santa Barbara; Cypress Lampe, Oak Ridge, UC San Diego; Brandon Mills, Oak Ridge, Arizona State; Chandler Pourvahidi, Vista Del Lago, UC San Diego; Haylee Rademann, St. Francis, Washington and Lee; Maddie Velez, Oak Ridge, Utah. Ryan Dewante of Oak Ridge and Kyle Peterson of Folsom will make announcements Monday.

Harms, Ramirez to get state coach honors

El Dorado's Dwayne "Peanut" Harms and Oakmont's Rick Ramirez will be honored as coach of the year recipients by the California Coaches Association at its 56th annual awards banquet June 15 in Fresno.

Harms, who has coached El Dorado's track and cross country programs since 2001, will be honored as the state boys track coach of the year. Ramirez will be honored as the state assistant coach of the year. He has been an assistant baseball coach for 24 seasons, assistant football coach for 23 years and head softball coach the past two years at Oakmont.

Call The Bee's Bill Paterson, (916) 326-5506.

© Copyright The Sacramento Bee. All rights reserved.

Read more articles by Bill Paterson

Sacramento Bee Job listing powered by
Quick Job Search
Sacramento Bee Jobs »
Used Cars
Dealer and private-party ads


Price Range:
Search within:
miles of ZIP

Advanced Search | 1982 & Older