Chuck Burton Associated Press Jimmie Johnson holds up his check for $1 million after winning NASCAR's All-Star race Saturday night for a record fourth time.

All-Star race all Johnson's

Published: Sunday, May. 19, 2013 - 12:00 am | Page 2C
Last Modified: Sunday, May. 19, 2013 - 8:04 am

CONCORD, N.C. – Cross another milestone off Jimmie Johnson's list. He stands alone in All-Star history.

"Five-time" became the first four-time winner of NASCAR's annual All-Star race, breaking a tie with Dale Earnhardt and teammate Jeff Gordon on Saturday night.

"To beat Jeff and Earnhardt, two guys that I have looked up to my whole life, two massive icons of our sport, this means the world to me," said Johnson, who also joined Davey Allison as the second driver to win back-to-back All-Star races.

It was fitting that Johnson did it at Charlotte Motor Speedway, the track the five-time NASCAR champion has dominated since his 2002 rookie season. Johnson has won six points races at Charlotte and led more than 1,600 laps.

"The only four-time All-Star champion – I am very proud of you," crew chief Chad Knaus radioed after Johnson took the checkered flag.

A day after Johnson overshot his pit stall during qualifying to earn a poor starting spot, his Hendrick Motorsports crew changed four tires in 11 seconds on the mandatory final spot to send Johnson back onto the track in second for the final restart.

He lined up inside of teammate Kasey Kahne for the 10-lap sprint to the cash, and the two battled side-by-side for a little more than a lap before Johnson cleared Kahne and sailed to victory.

"We are doing great things, and we are amazing ourselves in the process," Johnson said.

Joey Logano finished second and Kyle Busch, who won two of the first four segments, was third as neither had a shot at running down Johnson once he got his No. 48 Chevrolet out front.

"The 48, once he got that clean air, he was gone," Logano said. "Second isn't anything to hang your head, but it's about the million bucks."

Kahne faded to fourth, and Kurt Busch, who also won two segments to give the Busch brothers a sweep, was fifth.

It was disappointing for both Busch brothers, who had the cars to beat through 80 laps. New scoring rules designed to stop sandbagging sent the drivers onto pit road for the mandatory final stop in order of their average finish in the first four segments.

The Busch brothers tied with an average finish of 2.0, and Kurt went down pit road as the leader based on the tiebreaker of winning the final segment.

But the two Hendrick cars beat everybody off pit road, Kyle Busch exited in third, and a poor final pit stop dropped Kurt to fifth.

"Ultimately, it came down to pit road, where my guys always prove their worth," Kyle Busch said. "Unfortunately, we didn't have the best of stops, and to come out third, well, that was the race right there. You have to be on the front row if you're going to win this thing."

Jamie McMurray won the 40-lap Sprint Showdown to transfer to the main event, and Ricky Stenhouse Jr. was second to earn the other berth. Danica Patrick won the Sprint fan vote to claim the last open spot in the race.

© Copyright The Sacramento Bee. All rights reserved.

Read more articles by Jenna Fryer

Sacramento Bee Job listing powered by
Quick Job Search
Sacramento Bee Jobs »
Used Cars
Dealer and private-party ads


Price Range:
Search within:
miles of ZIP

Advanced Search | 1982 & Older