CSU names five new campus presidents

Published: Thursday, May. 23, 2013 - 12:00 am | Page 4A
Last Modified: Tuesday, May. 28, 2013 - 8:44 am

California State University trustees named new leaders for five of the system's 23 campuses Wednesday, setting off a game of musical chairs in California's higher education landscape.

Two of the appointments are for new presidents, while three of them give permanent positions to men who had served as interim campus presidents. Their compensation packages will be made public in July, said CSU spokesman Michael Uhlenkamp.

The new presidents are:

• William A. Covino, provost and vice president of Fresno State, who becomes the new president of Cal State Los Angeles.

• Joseph I. Castro, a vice chancellor at the University of California, San Francisco, who becomes the new president of Fresno State.

The presidents advancing from "interim" to "permanent" are:

• Joseph F. Sheley, who leaves his post as executive vice president of Sacramento State to become permanent president of Stanislaus State.

• Eduardo M. Ochoa, a former vice president at Sonoma State who served two years in the Obama administration, becomes the permanent president of CSU Monterey Bay.

• Willie J. Hagan, a former CSU Fullerton administrator, becomes the permanent president of CSU Dominguez Hills.

Call Laurel Rosenhall, Bee Capitol Bureau, (916) 321-1083. Follow her on Twitter @laurelrosenhall.

© Copyright The Sacramento Bee. All rights reserved.

Read more articles by Laurel Rosenhall

Sacramento Bee Job listing powered by Careerbuilder.com
Quick Job Search
Sacramento Bee Jobs »
Used Cars
Dealer and private-party ads


Price Range:
Search within:
miles of ZIP

Advanced Search | 1982 & Older