Sacramento County Teachers of the Year named

Published: Friday, Aug. 16, 2013 - 9:45 pm

An elementary school teacher from the San Juan Unified School District and a high school math teacher from the Elk Grove Unified School District have been named Sacramento County Teachers of the Year 2014.

Deanna Victor teaches a fourth-fifth grade combination class at Mariemont Elementary School, and Tim Smith teaches math, algebra and AP statistics at Florin High School. The two were selected from among 16 Sacramento County teachers to represent the county in the California Teachers of the Year competition.

Their selection was announced Friday night at a countywide teacher recognition dinner.

Victor and Smith are eligible to advance to the statewide competition, in which five teachers will be chosen as California Teachers of the Year. California Teachers of the Year are responsible for representing the teaching profession in a variety of settings and assisting their colleagues throughout the 2013-14 school year, according to a county Office of Education news release. The individual selected as the state's nominee to the National Teacher of the Year program will be announced this fall by Tom Torlakson, state superintendent of public instruction.

© Copyright The Sacramento Bee. All rights reserved.

Read more articles by Cathy Locke

Sacramento Bee Job listing powered by
Quick Job Search
Sacramento Bee Jobs »
Used Cars
Dealer and private-party ads


Price Range:
Search within:
miles of ZIP

Advanced Search | 1982 & Older