Cycling Tour de France

Laurent Cipriani/AP Photo

Estonia's Rein Taaramae, France's Tony Gallopin, Germany's Tony Martin, Netherlands' Lieuwe Westra, France's Samuel Dumoulin, Australia's Mathew Hayman, Australia's Simon Clarke, Colombia's Janier Alexis Acevedo Colle, and Germany's Marcus Burghardt, from left, ride in the breakaway group during the fifth stage of the Tour de France cycling race over 155 kilometers (96.3 miles) with start in Ypres, Belgium, and finish in Arenberg, France, Wednesday, July 9, 2014. The stage initially contained nine sectors of cobblestone roads dreaded by the majority of the riders in the pack especially under wet conditions, the organization decided to cancel two of the nine stretches because of the weather.

close window