Photos Loading
previous next
  • Manny Crisostomo /

    The cast of the Nedra Pezold Roberts’ “Vanishing Point” produced and directed by Ray Tatar in Sacramento, which received eight Elly nominations, including best overall production and best script.

  • Benjamin T. Ismail

    The cast of Big Idea Theatre’s “Lonesome Hollow.” Gina Williams was nominated for Best Direction of a Drama for the production.

  • Lixxim Photography / Lixxim Photography

    Benjamin T. Ismail, who is a nominee for the Leading Male in Comedy, performed with Imani Mitchell in The Big Idea production of “The Submission” by Jeff Talbott.

  • Ovation Stage

    Janet Motenko is nominated for a leading female in comedy for the Ovation Stage production of “The Madwoman of Challiot.”

  • Joelle Robertson / Photo by Joelle Robertson

    Big Idea Theatre’s production of “The Lieutenant of Inishmore” by Martin McDonagh was nominated for an overall production Elly Award in the comedy category.

More Information

  • Elly Awards

    SARTA hosts two ceremonies for the 32nd annual awards:

    • The Youth Elly Awards ceremony at 7 p.m. on Sept. 7 at Roseville Theatre Arts Academy, 241 Vernon St., Roseville.

    • The Adult Elly Awards ceremony at 7 p.m. on Sept. 21 at the Red Lion Inn, Woodlake Hotel, 500 Leisure Lane, Sacramento.

    For more information, go too

Elly nominees announced: Awards celebrate achievement in community theater

Published: Sunday, Aug. 3, 2014 - 9:00 pm

The Sacramento Area Regional Theatre Alliance (SARTA) has announced its nominees for the 32 annual Elly Awards, which will be handed out in two ceremonies. The Elly Youth awards will be announced Sept. 7 at The Roseville Theatre Arts Academy, and the Elly Adult Awards on Sept. 21 at the Red Lion Inn, Woodlake Hotel in Sacramento.

Named for Eleanor McClatchy, former publisher of The Sacramento Bee and a patron of the arts, the Elly Awards celebrate achievement in community theater across the region. Theaters submit their own productions for judging, and professional theaters do not take part.

Two hundred thirty-one productions were submitted by 78 theaters, with 124 productions receiving nominations. The Elly judges are volunteers who see every production in the category they are judging.

The awards are given in categories encompassing acting, direction, design, choreography, musical direction, original and adapted scripts, and overall production. The categories are broken down into comedy, drama, musical, education and young people’s plays.

The theaters receiving the most nominations are Sutter Street Theatre (38), Roseville Theatre Arts Academy (30), Rocklin Community Theatre (22), The Acting Company (21), Big Idea Theatre (17), St. Mary’s High School (17) and El Dorado High School (17).

The most youth programs nominations went to “Shrek the Musical” at St. Mary’s High School (11); “Once on This Island,” Sheldon High School (9); “Charlotte’s Web,” The Acting Company (9); “The Drowsy Chaperone,” Christian Brothers High School (8); “Cats,” River City Theatre Company (8); “How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying,” Rocklin Community Theatre (8); and “Shrek the Musical,” River City Theatre Company (8).

Productions receiving the most adult nominations are “Avenue Q” at Sierra Stages (12); “Oklahoma,” Rocklin Community Theatre (9); “The Glass Menagerie,” San Joaquin Delta College (8); “The Vanishing Point,” California Stage Company (7); “Spring Awakening,” UC Davis Dept. of Theatre and Dance (7); and “Peter Pan,” Missouri Street Theatre (7).

Nominated for best overall production drama are California Stage Company’s “The Vanishing Point,” California Stage Company’s “Journeys End,” The Falcon’s Eye Theatre’s “The Crucible,” Ovation Stage’s “Buried Child,” and San Joaquin Delta College’s “The Glass Menagerie.”

Nominees for the broadly defined comedy category are Synthetic Unlimited’s “American Buffalo,” Big Idea Theatre’s “The Lieutenant of Inishmore,” The Acting Company’s “Bullshot Crummond,” Stockton Civic Theatre’s “It Runs in the Family,” and City Theatre At Sacramento City College’s “Scapino!”

Nominated for best direction of a drama are Eason Donner for Actor’s Theatre of Sacramento’s “The Sunset Limited,” Gina Williams for Big Idea Theatre’s “Lonesome Hollow,” James Wheatley for Celebration Arts’ “The Train Driver,” Penny Kline for Ovation Stage’s “Buried Child” and Ray Tatar for California Stage’s “The Vanishing Point.”

For more information and a complete list of nominees, go to

Call The Bee’s Marcus Crowder, (916) 321-1120.

Read more articles by Marcus Crowder

Sacramento Bee Job listing powered by
Quick Job Search
Sacramento Bee Jobs »
Used Cars
Dealer and private-party ads


Price Range:
Search within:
miles of ZIP

Advanced Search | 1982 & Older