In this June 10, 2011, photo, Commissioner Gabino Aguirre of the California Citizens Redistricting Commission, right, responds to questions while discussing the commission’s draft redistricting maps at a Capitol news conference, in Sacramento. The 14-member commission was responsible for drawing state legislative and congressional districts in time for the 2012 elections. The U.S. Supreme Court heard arguments Monday, March 2, 2015, on an appeal by Republican lawmakers in Arizona against the state’s voter-approved independent redistricting commission for creating the districts of U.S. House members. A decision striking down the commission probably would doom California’s redistricting system and could affect districting commissions in 11 other states.
In this June 10, 2011, photo, Commissioner Gabino Aguirre of the California Citizens Redistricting Commission, right, responds to questions while discussing the commission’s draft redistricting maps at a Capitol news conference, in Sacramento. The 14-member commission was responsible for drawing state legislative and congressional districts in time for the 2012 elections. The U.S. Supreme Court heard arguments Monday, March 2, 2015, on an appeal by Republican lawmakers in Arizona against the state’s voter-approved independent redistricting commission for creating the districts of U.S. House members. A decision striking down the commission probably would doom California’s redistricting system and could affect districting commissions in 11 other states. Rich Pedroncelli AP
In this June 10, 2011, photo, Commissioner Gabino Aguirre of the California Citizens Redistricting Commission, right, responds to questions while discussing the commission’s draft redistricting maps at a Capitol news conference, in Sacramento. The 14-member commission was responsible for drawing state legislative and congressional districts in time for the 2012 elections. The U.S. Supreme Court heard arguments Monday, March 2, 2015, on an appeal by Republican lawmakers in Arizona against the state’s voter-approved independent redistricting commission for creating the districts of U.S. House members. A decision striking down the commission probably would doom California’s redistricting system and could affect districting commissions in 11 other states. Rich Pedroncelli AP
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Capitol Alert

March 02, 2015 12:00 PM

State redistricting plan under scrutiny at Supreme Court

Suggested for you

Comments

Videos

Capitol Alert staff


Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Dan Walters
columnist
dwalters@sacbee.com
@waltersbee

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert

Editor's Choice Videos