More Videos

Villaraigosa talks high-speed rail in Fresno 0:48

Villaraigosa talks high-speed rail in Fresno

Transgender rights are 'not a federal government issue' 0:50

Transgender rights are 'not a federal government issue'

Bernie Sanders makes 2016 push for drug-pricing measure 1:09

Bernie Sanders makes 2016 push for drug-pricing measure

Oroville Dam spillway taking shape in this September 11 flyover 1:16

Oroville Dam spillway taking shape in this September 11 flyover

Here's how California's sanctuary state bill works 1:26

Here's how California's sanctuary state bill works

California lawmakers tackle Donald Trump and student hunger in resolutions 1:37

California lawmakers tackle Donald Trump and student hunger in resolutions

'If we don't get started...we will have more than a crisis on our hands' 1:09

'If we don't get started...we will have more than a crisis on our hands'

'We know that this is just a start,' Assembly speaker says of housing bills 0:58

'We know that this is just a start,' Assembly speaker says of housing bills

'Sanctuary state' bill prompts clergy to sit-in, sing at Jerry Brown's office 1:03

'Sanctuary state' bill prompts clergy to sit-in, sing at Jerry Brown's office

Trump reveals more about The Wall, his meeting with Democratic leaders in DACA statement 0:55

Trump reveals more about The Wall, his meeting with Democratic leaders in DACA statement

  • Xavier Becerra suggests beer summit on religious liberty with GOP lawmaker

    At his Assembly confirmation hearing on Jan. 10, 2017, Attorney General nominee Xavier Becerra suggested grabbing a beer with Assemblyman James Gallagher, R-Yuba City, to further discuss his concerns on religious liberty. Video courtesy of the California Channel.

At his Assembly confirmation hearing on Jan. 10, 2017, Attorney General nominee Xavier Becerra suggested grabbing a beer with Assemblyman James Gallagher, R-Yuba City, to further discuss his concerns on religious liberty. Video courtesy of the California Channel. Alexei Koseff akoseff@sacbee.com
At his Assembly confirmation hearing on Jan. 10, 2017, Attorney General nominee Xavier Becerra suggested grabbing a beer with Assemblyman James Gallagher, R-Yuba City, to further discuss his concerns on religious liberty. Video courtesy of the California Channel. Alexei Koseff akoseff@sacbee.com
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Xavier Becerra nomination for attorney general moves to California Senate

January 18, 2017 6:00 AM

Comments

Advertising

Catherine Bettar
916-321-1083
cbettar@sacbee.com

Capitol Alert staff


Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert