More Videos

Protesters disrupt Republican Congressman Tom McClintock town hall 1:23

Protesters disrupt Republican Congressman Tom McClintock town hall

California lawmakers tackle Donald Trump and student hunger in resolutions 1:37

California lawmakers tackle Donald Trump and student hunger in resolutions

Villaraigosa talks high-speed rail in Fresno 0:48

Villaraigosa talks high-speed rail in Fresno

'If we don't get started...we will have more than a crisis on our hands' 1:09

'If we don't get started...we will have more than a crisis on our hands'

'We know that this is just a start,' Assembly speaker says of housing bills 0:58

'We know that this is just a start,' Assembly speaker says of housing bills

Transgender rights are 'not a federal government issue' 0:50

Transgender rights are 'not a federal government issue'

Bernie Sanders makes 2016 push for drug-pricing measure 1:09

Bernie Sanders makes 2016 push for drug-pricing measure

Trump reveals more about The Wall, his meeting with Democratic leaders in DACA statement 0:55

Trump reveals more about The Wall, his meeting with Democratic leaders in DACA statement

California Nurses Association protests shelving of single-payer health care bill 1:27

California Nurses Association protests shelving of single-payer health care bill

Get to know gubernatorial candidate Gavin Newsom 1:34

Get to know gubernatorial candidate Gavin Newsom

  • Margaret Fortune says charter schools have gained ground on preparing black students

    Hundreds of students and parents rallied outside the Capitol on February 1, 2017 -- the first day of Black History Month -- urging lawmakers to support charter schools and African-American student achievement.

Hundreds of students and parents rallied outside the Capitol on February 1, 2017 -- the first day of Black History Month -- urging lawmakers to support charter schools and African-American student achievement. Alexei Koseff akoseff@sacbee.com
Hundreds of students and parents rallied outside the Capitol on February 1, 2017 -- the first day of Black History Month -- urging lawmakers to support charter schools and African-American student achievement. Alexei Koseff akoseff@sacbee.com
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

California charter advocates say public school system ‘failing black kids’

February 01, 2017 2:35 PM

Comments

Advertising

Catherine Bettar
916-321-1083
cbettar@sacbee.com

Capitol Alert staff


Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert