This rare 'super bloom' of wildflowers in Death Valley National Park in California only happens once every decade or so. A big storm - huge by Death Valley standards - in the fall created conditions that brought to life wildflower seeds that had been dormant under the valley's usually dry soil, setting the stage for this winter's explosion of color. Bristlecone Media National Park Service
This rare 'super bloom' of wildflowers in Death Valley National Park in California only happens once every decade or so. A big storm - huge by Death Valley standards - in the fall created conditions that brought to life wildflower seeds that had been dormant under the valley's usually dry soil, setting the stage for this winter's explosion of color. Bristlecone Media National Park Service
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Capitol Alert

May 13, 2017 4:00 PM

California rains brought super bloom – and toxic invaders

Suggested for you

Comments

Videos

Capitol Alert staff


Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Dan Walters
columnist
dwalters@sacbee.com
@waltersbee

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert

Editor's Choice Videos