Home destroyed in the Coffey Creek neighborhood during a wildfire in Sonoma County on Oct. 9, 2017 in Santa Rosa, Calif.
Home destroyed in the Coffey Creek neighborhood during a wildfire in Sonoma County on Oct. 9, 2017 in Santa Rosa, Calif. Paul Kitagaki Jr. pkitagaki@sacbee.com
Home destroyed in the Coffey Creek neighborhood during a wildfire in Sonoma County on Oct. 9, 2017 in Santa Rosa, Calif. Paul Kitagaki Jr. pkitagaki@sacbee.com
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Electric utilities that cause wildfires should eat the costs, lawmakers say

October 31, 2017 06:00 AM

UPDATED October 31, 2017 07:49 AM

Comments

More Videos

  • ‘We know there are mountains behind that line of smog,’ Cristina Garcia says

    Assemblywoman Cristina Garcia talks about her environmental record at UN climate discussions in Bonn, Germany, on Saturday, Nov. 11, 2017.

Advertising



Catherine Bettar
916-321-1083
cbettar@sacbee.com

Capitol Alert staff



Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
Lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert