Singer John Legend leaves the Travis County Correctional Complex in Austin, Texas, on April 16, 2015, after visiting inmates and performing a few songs as part of his "Free America" campaign to end mass incarceration.
Singer John Legend leaves the Travis County Correctional Complex in Austin, Texas, on April 16, 2015, after visiting inmates and performing a few songs as part of his "Free America" campaign to end mass incarceration. Jay Janner Austin American-Statesman
Singer John Legend leaves the Travis County Correctional Complex in Austin, Texas, on April 16, 2015, after visiting inmates and performing a few songs as part of his "Free America" campaign to end mass incarceration. Jay Janner Austin American-Statesman
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Capitol Alert

AM Alert: John Legend, Gavin Newsom advocate new approach to criminal justice

April 19, 2015 11:00 PM

Comments

Videos

Advertising

Catherine Bettar
916-321-1083
cbettar@sacbee.com

Capitol Alert staff


Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert