Taft, California’s fastest growing city last year, is the site of the largest bronze statue in California, the 40-foot Oilworker Monument that honors the men who built Kern County's oil industry. The monument, sculpted by Taft native, Benjamin Victor is located on Sixth Street, near a greenbelt, was erected in 2010.
Taft, California’s fastest growing city last year, is the site of the largest bronze statue in California, the 40-foot Oilworker Monument that honors the men who built Kern County's oil industry. The monument, sculpted by Taft native, Benjamin Victor is located on Sixth Street, near a greenbelt, was erected in 2010. Jose Luis Villegas jvillegas@sacbee.com
Taft, California’s fastest growing city last year, is the site of the largest bronze statue in California, the 40-foot Oilworker Monument that honors the men who built Kern County's oil industry. The monument, sculpted by Taft native, Benjamin Victor is located on Sixth Street, near a greenbelt, was erected in 2010. Jose Luis Villegas jvillegas@sacbee.com
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Capitol Alert

California’s population rose last year by 358,000 to 38.7 million

May 01, 2015 11:37 AM

Comments

Videos

Advertising

Catherine Bettar
916-321-1083
cbettar@sacbee.com

Capitol Alert staff


Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert