Before marching on the state Capitol, Khadija Kabbe, left front, and Jennifer Holm, right front, rally with hundreds of members of the California Nurses Association in the K Street lobby of the California Hospital Association in downtown Sacramento. Among the bills backed by the nurses’ union this year are SB 483 by state Senator Jim Beall (D-San Jose), a measure to prevent patients from being left on hospital gurneys in “observation status” for lengthy periods, and AB 305, by Assemblywoman Lorena Gonzales (D-San Diego) addressing gender bias in workers’ compensation laws.
Before marching on the state Capitol, Khadija Kabbe, left front, and Jennifer Holm, right front, rally with hundreds of members of the California Nurses Association in the K Street lobby of the California Hospital Association in downtown Sacramento. Among the bills backed by the nurses’ union this year are SB 483 by state Senator Jim Beall (D-San Jose), a measure to prevent patients from being left on hospital gurneys in “observation status” for lengthy periods, and AB 305, by Assemblywoman Lorena Gonzales (D-San Diego) addressing gender bias in workers’ compensation laws. Lezlie Sterling lsterling@sacbee.com
Before marching on the state Capitol, Khadija Kabbe, left front, and Jennifer Holm, right front, rally with hundreds of members of the California Nurses Association in the K Street lobby of the California Hospital Association in downtown Sacramento. Among the bills backed by the nurses’ union this year are SB 483 by state Senator Jim Beall (D-San Jose), a measure to prevent patients from being left on hospital gurneys in “observation status” for lengthy periods, and AB 305, by Assemblywoman Lorena Gonzales (D-San Diego) addressing gender bias in workers’ compensation laws. Lezlie Sterling lsterling@sacbee.com
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Nurses take to downtown streets in protest

May 12, 2015 04:38 PM

UPDATED May 13, 2015 07:11 AM

Comments

More Videos

  • ‘We know there are mountains behind that line of smog,’ Cristina Garcia says

    Assemblywoman Cristina Garcia talks about her environmental record at UN climate discussions in Bonn, Germany, on Saturday, Nov. 11, 2017.

Advertising



Catherine Bettar
916-321-1083
cbettar@sacbee.com

Capitol Alert staff



Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
Lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert