Capitol Alert

July 11, 2014 3:16 PM

Dan Walters Daily: California emerging from the red

For the first time since before the recession, California ended the fiscal year with a surplus. But the state still has plenty of debt to worry about, Dan says.

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Related content

Comments

 

Videos

More Videos

Out-of-state Berkeley student explains enrollment debate 00:57

Out-of-state Berkeley student explains enrollment debate

Gavin Newsom says California pot measure better than 2010 version 01:07

Gavin Newsom says California pot measure better than 2010 version

Fallen officers honored at California Capitol 02:47

Fallen officers honored at California Capitol

Jerry Brown says Donald Trump exploiting 'climate of discontent' 00:58

Jerry Brown says Donald Trump exploiting 'climate of discontent'

Jerry Brown rips Florida's sinking land, humidity and bugs 00:50

Jerry Brown rips Florida's sinking land, humidity and bugs

California Republican compares Trump, Cruz convention speeches 00:57

California Republican compares Trump, Cruz convention speeches

Tim Donnelly rips Gavin Newsom's gun-control bid 00:22

Tim Donnelly rips Gavin Newsom's gun-control bid

Fan meets Trump: 'Please, moisturize your hands' 00:33

Fan meets Trump: 'Please, moisturize your hands'

Donald Trump supporters react to Burlingame protest 00:50

Donald Trump supporters react to Burlingame protest

Latinos protest Donald Trump: 'You can't change the world this way' 01:01

Latinos protest Donald Trump: 'You can't change the world this way'

Protesters against Donald Trump gather at California Republican convention 02:16

Protesters against Donald Trump gather at California Republican convention

Share Video

Capitol Alert staff


Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

David Siders
Brown administration
dsiders@sacbee.com
@davidsiders

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Jeremy B. White
Legislature
jwhite@sacbee.com
@capitolalert

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Dan Walters
columnist
dwalters@sacbee.com
@waltersbee

Editor's Choice Videos