Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Jerry Brown, fracking, in sculpture at state fair

07/14/2014 4:17 PM

07/14/2014 4:39 PM

An artist who once cleaned Gov. Jerry Brown’s apartment is now portraying him in an unflattering sculpture on display at the California State Fair.

The sculpture, “Happy Fracking Day,” is the latest barb at the Democratic governor by critics of hydraulic fracturing, a controversial form of oil extraction. Brown, appearing with Lt. Gov. Gavin Newsom and Brown’s dog, Sutter, is shown with a knife in hand, standing over a California-shaped cake decorated with an oil derrick.

The artist, Laura Harling, once worked as a janitor for the state, and she said she filled in for a couple of months cleaning Brown’s apartment when he was governor before, from 1975 to 1983. She has previously sculpted Brown sitting in the lotus position and dancing with Newsom.

“I really wasn’t planning on doing another one of Jerry, but the Fracking thing was just, it just seemed like the perfect opportunity to do another sculpture,” Harling said.

Brown, a Democrat, frustrated environmentalists when he signed legislation last year establishing a permitting system for hydraulic fracturing, in which water and chemicals are injected underground to break up rock formations.

At the state fair, Harling’s sculpture received an award of merit.

Capitol Alert staff

Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

David Siders
Brown administration
dsiders@sacbee.com
@davidsiders

Christopher Cadelago
California politics and health care
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Laurel Rosenhall
Legislature, lobbying, higher education
lrosenhall@sacbee.com
@LaurelRosenhall

Jeremy B. White
Legislature
jwhite@sacbee.com
@capitolalert

Alexei Koseff
Insider Edition editor
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

 

Join the Discussion

The Sacramento Bee is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service