Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Fines for brown lawns blocked by bill signed by Gov. Jerry Brown

07/21/2014 3:24 PM

10/06/2014 8:26 PM

For Californians caught between a drought and a brown space, a newly signed bill could offer some relief.

Introduced amid a withering drought, Assembly Bill 2100 bars homeowners associations in common interest developments from fining residents who stop watering their lawns during drought emergencies. Gov. Jerry Brown declared such an emergency back in January and has signed AB 2100, his office announced Monday.

Since the law applies only to homeowners associations, it would not aid a Los Angeles area couple facing a $500 penalty from the city of Glendora for letting their lawn languish. According to a bill analysis, common interest developments – a category that encompasses condominiums and some apartment projects – account for some 4.9 million housing units statewide.

California has taken the unprecedented step of authorizing a $500 penalty for wasting water, so Assemblywoman Nora Campos, D-San Jose, called her AB 2100 necessary to ensure no one is punished for complying. The law takes effect immediately.

"Legislation is needed to ensure we're not sending mixed messages about the importance of saving water," said Campos chief of staff Sailaja Rajappan.

The bill was one of nearly two dozen measures Brown announced signing Monday. Among others, he signed legislation giving state income tax relief to homeowners who sold their homes in short sales or obtained loan modifications last year.

Assembly Bill 1393, by Assemblyman Henry Perea, D-Fresno, was expected to save taxpayers about $39 million.

Capitol Alert staff

Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

David Siders
Brown administration
dsiders@sacbee.com
@davidsiders

Christopher Cadelago
California politics and health care
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Laurel Rosenhall
Legislature, lobbying, higher education
lrosenhall@sacbee.com
@LaurelRosenhall

Jeremy B. White
Legislature
jwhite@sacbee.com
@capitolalert

Alexei Koseff
Insider Edition editor
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

 

Join the Discussion

The Sacramento Bee is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service