Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Jerry Brown adds to campaign war chest

07/24/2014 10:51 AM

07/24/2014 11:18 AM

Gov. Jerry Brown continues to expand his massive financial advantage over Republican Neel Kashkari in his bid for re-election, reporting Thursday that he had $22.4 million on hand as of June 30.

The Democratic governor raised $5.7 million in the first half of the year and spent less than $270,000 in the primary election. Brown finished first anyway, and is polling far ahead of Kashkari early in their general election contest.

Brown’s major donors include the Democratic State Central Committee of California, labor unions and myriad business interests.

Kashkari, a former U.S. Treasury Department official, relied on $2 million of his own money to pull ahead of Republican rival Tim Donnelly in the primary election, and he has continued to struggle raising campaign cash. He has not yet filed his semi-annual financial statement, which is due next week.

The chart below shows Brown’s monthly fundraising from January 2013 through June 2014, with aggregate totals.

Capitol Alert staff

Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

David Siders
Brown administration
dsiders@sacbee.com
@davidsiders

Christopher Cadelago
California politics and health care
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Laurel Rosenhall
Legislature, lobbying, higher education
lrosenhall@sacbee.com
@LaurelRosenhall

Jeremy B. White
Legislature
jwhite@sacbee.com
@capitolalert

Alexei Koseff
Insider Edition editor
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

 

Join the Discussion

The Sacramento Bee is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service