Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Pérez campaign led the way in Sacramento-area ad buys

07/24/2014 4:46 PM

07/24/2014 4:48 PM

The Sacramento TV market’s largest broadcast stations netted more than $623,000 in ad revenue from federal, state and local campaign committees in the weeks before last month’s primary election, public filings show.

The top-spending customer for Sacramento-area TV ads was Assemblyman John A. Pérez, whose campaign for state controller purchased almost $220,000 in airtime in the weeks before the primary, according to ad-buying invoices uploaded by KCRA, KXTV, KOVR and KTXL.

Perez, D-Los Angeles, ended up finishing third in the contest, just 481 votes behind Board of Equalization member Betty Yee, a Democrat, who will face Fresno Mayor Ashley Swearengin, a Republican, in a November runoff. Campaign filings due next week will detail candidates’ primary campaign spending, but neither Yee nor Swearengin ran any Sacramento TV ads, stations’ filings show.

The second-biggest spender on Sacramento TV before the June 3 election was Sacramento County district attorney’s candidate Anne Marie Schubert, whose campaign spent $173,000. Republican gubernatorial candidate Neel Kashkari spent the third-most, $156,000.

The Sacramento-Stockton-Modesto TV market is the state’s third-largest, behind Los Angeles and San Francisco, and 20th nationwide. Campaign ad-buyers earn a commission of about 15 percent.

Political ad-buying records have always been available for public review at individual stations. But under a recent Federal Communications Commission decision, top-50 stations have had to upload the filings since 2012. And as of July 1, all stations had to start posting the reports.

Capitol Alert staff

Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

David Siders
Brown administration
dsiders@sacbee.com
@davidsiders

Christopher Cadelago
California politics and health care
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Laurel Rosenhall
Legislature, lobbying, higher education
lrosenhall@sacbee.com
@LaurelRosenhall

Jeremy B. White
Legislature
jwhite@sacbee.com
@capitolalert

Alexei Koseff
Insider Edition editor
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

 

Join the Discussion

The Sacramento Bee is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service