Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Jerry Brown nominates senior aide to appeals court

07/25/2014 11:33 AM

07/25/2014 11:34 AM

Gov. Jerry Brown on Friday nominated a second senior member of his administration on a California court, naming Jonathan Renner, his legal affairs secretary, to the Sacramento-based Third District Court of Appeal.

Renner, 44, was a senior assistant attorney general for government law when Brown was attorney general, then joined Brown’s administration when the governor took office in 2011.

The nomination comes two years after Brown named longtime aide Jim Humes, then Brown’s executive secretary, to the First District Court of Appeal. Brown last month appointed Humes presiding justice of the court’s first division, elevating his position.

Like Brown and Humes, Renner is a Democrat.

Renner’s nomination requires confirmation by the Commission on Judicial Appointments. If confirmed, Renner will fill the vacancy created when Justice Tani Cantil-Sakauye was appointed to the California Supreme Court in 2010.

Pay for the position is $211,260 a year.

Capitol Alert staff

Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

David Siders
Brown administration
dsiders@sacbee.com
@davidsiders

Christopher Cadelago
California politics and health care
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Laurel Rosenhall
Legislature, lobbying, higher education
lrosenhall@sacbee.com
@LaurelRosenhall

Jeremy B. White
Legislature
jwhite@sacbee.com
@capitolalert

Alexei Koseff
Insider Edition editor
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

 

Join the Discussion

The Sacramento Bee is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service