Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

AM Alert: Viva México! Jerry Brown heads south of border

07/28/2014 5:00 AM

10/08/2014 12:09 PM

Buenos días, lectores.

Gov. Jerry Brown’s trade and investment trip to Mexico kicks off today. The governor, along with a travel party of more than 100 lawmakers, administration officials and business delegates, is in Mexico City until Wednesday, meeting with government and business leaders to expand economic and environmental cooperation with California.

On the schedule today is a climate change summit with Mexico’s Ministry of Environment and Natural Resources, where Brown will sign a “memorandum of understanding” between California and Mexico. Brown will also meet with Eruviel Ávila, governor of the state of Mexico, and the U.S. Ambassador E. Anthony Wayne, and participate in the launch of new tourism campaign by Visit California and AeroMexico.

The Sacramento Bee’s David Siders will have coverage throughout the trip.

Back in California, Gavin Newsom has temporarily assumed the governorship while Brown is out of the state. Senate President Pro Tem Darrell Steinberg and Assembly Speaker Toni Atkins will also get turns later this week.

VIDEO: A new study has concluded that the California Legislature is the most polarized in the country. Is that a bad thing?, Dan asks.

AMMO DOING IT RIGHT?: Last fall, Brown signed legislation to ban the use of lead ammunition in hunting by no later than July 2019. The Wildlife Resources Committee of the California Fish and Game Commission will discuss options for implementing the law, including how to certify non-lead bullets, during its meeting at 9 a.m. at the Resources Building on 9th Street.

BLAST FROM THE PAST: The Delta Science Program hosts Robin Grossinger, senior scientist at the San Francisco Estuary Institute, for a seminar on how historical data about the Delta system can inform restoration planning, noon at the Park Tower Building on 9th Street.

Capitol Alert staff

Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

David Siders
Brown administration
dsiders@sacbee.com
@davidsiders

Christopher Cadelago
California politics and health care
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Laurel Rosenhall
Legislature, lobbying, higher education
lrosenhall@sacbee.com
@LaurelRosenhall

Jeremy B. White
Legislature
jwhite@sacbee.com
@capitolalert

Alexei Koseff
Insider Edition editor
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

 

Join the Discussion

The Sacramento Bee is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service