Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

In Mexico, everyone knew Schwarzenegger; math professor knows Brown

07/27/2014 3:15 PM

07/27/2014 6:49 PM

MEXICO CITY – Arnold Schwarzenegger?

Everyone knows him, of course.

“Sí, sí sí,” said Sergio Perez, a waffle cook in the city’s exclusive Polanco District.

But few people here can place Jerry Brown, California’s current governor, who is arriving in the nation’s capital city Sunday for his first official visit since taking office.

Perez – in a scene repeated with a lawyer, a convenience store clerk, a policeman and any number of other people here – mulled over Brown’s name for a second.

“Jerry Brown?” he said. “No.”

Brown has neither starred in any movies nor won international body building acclaim. But in certain circles Brown, governor before from 1975 to 1983, does have cachet. Diplomats know him, as do many academics.

It helps of course, if they have been to California.

“I was in Berkeley when he was governor,” said Jaime Grabinsky, a mathematics professor.

The 66-year-old fondly recalled Brown talking about Zen Buddhism.

“He was not a typical politician,” he said.

Capitol Alert staff

Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

David Siders
Brown administration
dsiders@sacbee.com
@davidsiders

Christopher Cadelago
California politics and health care
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Jeremy B. White
Legislature
jwhite@sacbee.com
@capitolalert

Alexei Koseff
Insider Edition editor
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

 

Join the Discussion

The Sacramento Bee is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service