Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Neel Kashkari reports less than $200K for election as of June 30

07/31/2014 5:25 PM

10/08/2014 12:10 PM

In an uphill slog to unseat Democratic Gov. Jerry Brown, Republican Neel Kashkari had $198,000 in the bank and about $164,000 in debt as of June 30, according to his latest financial report filed Thursday.

Kashkari' campaign noted that he raised an additional $436,000 from July 1 though Thursday.

Kashkari, who spent $4.36 million since the start of the year, has struggled to narrow the gap with the third-term governor in opinion polls and campaign contributions. Last week, Brown reported $22.4 million on hand through the end of June.

Brown raised $5.7 million during the first half of the year but spent less than $270,000 in the primary election. He raised another $219,000 in July.

Kashkari, who contributed more than $2 million of his own money, was locked in a close contest with GOP Assemblyman Tim Donnelly.

A former investment banker and U.S. Treasury Department official, Kashkari reported raising the general election maximum of $27,200 from Republican benefactor and Stanford physicist Charles T. Munger, Jr. and housing mogul General William Lyon.

He received $10,000 from Style 2020 chief executive Kathryn Moore of Newport Beach and $2,000 from La Jolla investor R.B. “Buzz” Woolley Jr.

Capitol Alert staff

Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

David Siders
Brown administration
dsiders@sacbee.com
@davidsiders

Christopher Cadelago
California politics and health care
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Laurel Rosenhall
Legislature, lobbying, higher education
lrosenhall@sacbee.com
@LaurelRosenhall

Jeremy B. White
Legislature
jwhite@sacbee.com
@capitolalert

Alexei Koseff
Insider Edition editor
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

 

Join the Discussion

The Sacramento Bee is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service