Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

AM Alert: Water bond, cap-and-trade loom large as Legislature returns

08/04/2014 5:00 AM

08/01/2014 6:18 PM

Let the games begin!

The Legislature returns from its summer recess today and, with a month remaining in the session, there are still a number of contentious issues to sort out.

Chief among them is the water bond. While most lawmakers feel the $11.1 billion proposal on the November ballot is doomed to fail, Democrats and Republicans haven’t been able to agree on a replacement. Voter information guides are already on display, however, so time is running out to pass a new version of the measure.

Concern over California’s cap-and-trade program has also been growing as the state prepares to bring transportation fuels under regulation next year. Facing potential price hikes at the pump, a group of lawmakers is pushing to delay the rule, over the objections of environmentalists and utilities that are already regulated.

Other controversial legislation to watch out for this month: a ban on single-use plastic bags, guaranteed paid sick leave for workers, a requirement for porn performers to wear condoms, and a school construction bond that everyone except Gov. Jerry Brown seems to want.

Jeremy B. White has an extended preview of the looming legislative battles in today’s paper.

VIDEO: Water is for fighting in California, Dan Walters says.

HIGHER EDUCATION: Medical marijuana advocacy group Americans for Safe Access is in Sacramento for its lobby day, starting at 9 a.m. at the Citizen Hotel on J Street with a legislative briefing on bills that would create a regulatory bureau for dispensaries and cultivation sites and require police to return seized marijuana if it was lawfully posessed by the defendant. State Sen. Lou Correa, D-Santa Ana, is also scheduled to speak.

READ MORE: California water bond: The burning questions

Capitol Alert staff

Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

David Siders
Brown administration
dsiders@sacbee.com
@davidsiders

Christopher Cadelago
California politics and health care
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Laurel Rosenhall
Legislature, lobbying, higher education
lrosenhall@sacbee.com
@LaurelRosenhall

Jeremy B. White
Legislature
jwhite@sacbee.com
@capitolalert

Alexei Koseff
Insider Edition editor
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

 

Join the Discussion

The Sacramento Bee is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service