Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Mercury lobbying firm working to open office in Mexico

08/07/2014 10:29 AM

08/07/2014 10:30 AM

Former assembly speaker Fabian Núñez, who travelled recently to Mexico with Gov. Jerry Brown, is leading an effort to help his Mercury Public Affairs firm open a new office in Mexico City.

The company is in talks with a Mexican public affairs firm that it hopes to acquire this fall, Núñez said Wednesday. The goal is to expand Mercury’s lobbying, public affairs and public relations practice by helping businesses navigate the Mexican government, he said.

“Mexico is no longer a developing country, Mexico is a modern society now,” said Núñez, a Democrat who represented Los Angeles in the Assembly from 2002 to 2008 and is now a partner with Mercury, which has offices in Sacramento, Los Angeles and five other U.S. states.

Núñez, the son of Mexican immigrants who grew up along the border in San Diego and Tijuana, recently returned from a trade mission to Mexico with Brown and roughly 100 legislators, lobbyists and business, where Brown met with Mexican President Enrique Peña Nieto and other dignitaries. Núñez said the trip helped him gauge the interest of California companies in doing business in Mexico.

“It’s not just immigration and drug trafficking wars. There is more to it,” Núñez said. “There is a growing awareness that the Mexican economy is a strong economy.”

Capitol Alert staff

Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

David Siders
Brown administration
dsiders@sacbee.com
@davidsiders

Christopher Cadelago
California politics and health care
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Laurel Rosenhall
Legislature, lobbying, higher education
lrosenhall@sacbee.com
@LaurelRosenhall

Jeremy B. White
Legislature
jwhite@sacbee.com
@capitolalert

Alexei Koseff
Insider Edition editor
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

 

Join the Discussion

The Sacramento Bee is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service