Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

California lawmakers, actors press for film tax credit

08/20/2014 2:22 PM

08/20/2014 10:39 PM

Thirty-five members of California’s congressional delegation are pressing Gov. Jerry Brown to support an expanded film tax credit significant to California’s TV and movie industry, while actors and crew members rallied in support of the measure at the Capitol on Wednesday.

In a letter dated last week and released by U.S. Rep Judy Chu’s office on Tuesday, Chu and the other lawmakers lamented the loss in recent years of “tens of thousands of middle class jobs and significant revenue to other states that have more attractive tax incentive programs.”

Assembly Bill 1839, which is now working its way through the Legislature, would expand to $400 million annually a $100 million tax credit program for film and TV production.

Flanked by labor leaders and lawmakers on the north steps of the Capitol, actor Carl Weathers, of “Rocky” fame, called the current circumstances “so disheartening.” He said an expanded credit would “bring back larger productions – film and television – that are now totally absent from the California landscape.”

The nonpartisan Legislative Analyst’s Office cautioned earlier this year against a “race to the bottom” with other states in film tax credits, and it found no “conclusive evidence” California’s credit will reverse production losses to other states.

Capitol Alert staff

Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

David Siders
Brown administration
dsiders@sacbee.com
@davidsiders

Christopher Cadelago
California politics and health care
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Laurel Rosenhall
Legislature, lobbying, higher education
lrosenhall@sacbee.com
@LaurelRosenhall

Jeremy B. White
Legislature
jwhite@sacbee.com
@capitolalert

Alexei Koseff
Insider Edition editor
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

 

Join the Discussion

The Sacramento Bee is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service