Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

California Assemblyman Richard Pan answers questions about his residency

08/25/2014 12:41 PM

08/25/2014 12:42 PM

Assemblyman Richard Pan, D-Sacramento, who is running for the state Senate in November, fielded questions from The Sacramento Bee Capitol Bureau’s staff on Monday. The conversation covered a wide range of topics, including questions that arose last year from a Sacramento Bee investigation about where Pan lived at the time. The investigation found that Pan was spending his time at the his family home in Natomas, which was not in the Assembly district he represents. He had purchased a condominium in the district to comply with the law, and began taking $28,000 in annual per diem payments from the state that local lawmakers typically decline.

Then last January, Southern California Democratic Sen. Rod Wright was found guilty by a jury of eight felony counts stemming from allegations that he did not live in the Inglewood home he listed as his residence when he ran for office in 2008. Wright has not yet been sentenced, but the convictions could send him to prison for up to eight years. No legal action was brought against Pan in Sacramento.

The Wright case has spurred debate about the merits and clarity of state law that requires legislative candidates live in the district they seek to represent. Here’s what Pan said:

Capitol Alert staff

Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

David Siders
Brown administration
dsiders@sacbee.com
@davidsiders

Christopher Cadelago
California politics and health care
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Laurel Rosenhall
Legislature, lobbying, higher education
lrosenhall@sacbee.com
@LaurelRosenhall

Jeremy B. White
Legislature
jwhite@sacbee.com
@capitolalert

Alexei Koseff
Insider Edition editor
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

 

Join the Discussion

The Sacramento Bee is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service