Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Home brewers toast new law

08/27/2014 12:33 PM

08/27/2014 1:51 PM

It took the people who make beer at home a few days to get around to this, but the American Homebrewers Association issued a statement Wednesday praising the enactment of a California law that will let them gather in San Diego next year, after all.

The conference, billed by the association as the world’s largest gathering of home brewers, was in jeopardy of moving out of state as a result of legislation last year that – apparently inadvertently – would have turned such gatherings dry.

That legislation authorized the donation of homemade beer or wine to nonprofit organizations for fundraising events, but it excluded organizations that exist to promote home brewing or home winemaking. Home brewers were forced to cancel a Southern California festival this year.

But the drought will soon be over. Lawmakers this month voted without dissent to approve Assembly Bill 2609, which allows home brewing and home winemaking organizations to serve drinks. Gov. Jerry Brown signed the legislation last week.

In a prepared statement, Gary Glass, director of the American Homebrewers Association, said California “has been central to the growth of homebrewing – as a hobby, a business and a community.”

AB 2609’s enactment, Glass said, will let people “continue innovating, learning and sharing their craft through events organized by homebrewers for homebrewers.”

Capitol Alert staff

Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

David Siders
Brown administration
dsiders@sacbee.com
@davidsiders

Christopher Cadelago
California politics and health care
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Laurel Rosenhall
Legislature, lobbying, higher education
lrosenhall@sacbee.com
@LaurelRosenhall

Jeremy B. White
Legislature
jwhite@sacbee.com
@capitolalert

Alexei Koseff
Insider Edition editor
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

 

Join the Discussion

The Sacramento Bee is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service