Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

AM Alert: State of Jefferson takes step toward independence

08/28/2014 5:00 AM

08/28/2014 9:40 AM

The State of Jefferson isn’t waiting around for the Six Californias initiative to qualify to push ahead with its plan for independence.

Supporters of the Northern California secession movement are in Sacramento today to formally lodge their complaints with the state. They plan to submit declarations from Modoc and Siskiyou counties to the Legislature and Secretary of State expressing their desire to withdraw from California and reform under a new state government.

Mark Baird, one of the organizers of the Jefferson movement, said a lack of representation in Sacramento for the north state is causing them harm and the declarations represent an official request for redress.

“What we’re doing is forming standing for a challenge if the state ignores our demands,” he said.

Four more declarations from Yuba, Sutter, Glenn and Tehama counties will be presented in the coming months, Baird said, and when the number of like-minded counties reaches at least 10, the State of Jefferson will be ready to make its move. By then, though, he hopes south staters will be willing to let them go peacefully.

“Then they’ll be free to spend their political resources to focus on problems that we don’t even understand, like gang warfare,” Baird said.

Jefferson supporters will rally at 2 p.m. on the west steps of the Capitol.

Capitol Alert staff

Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

David Siders
Brown administration
dsiders@sacbee.com
@davidsiders

Christopher Cadelago
California politics and health care
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Laurel Rosenhall
Legislature, lobbying, higher education
lrosenhall@sacbee.com
@LaurelRosenhall

Jeremy B. White
Legislature
jwhite@sacbee.com
@capitolalert

Alexei Koseff
Insider Edition editor
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

 

Join the Discussion

The Sacramento Bee is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service