Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Labor-backed bill for private contractors passes Senate

08/29/2014 1:30 PM

10/08/2014 12:16 PM

The state Senate on Friday approved legislation prohibiting private EMTs and other contractors from using logos for public agencies they serve without identifying themselves as contractors.

Senate Bill 556, by Sen. Alex Padilla, D-Los Angeles, was supported by the California Labor Federation and California Professional Firefighters.

The California State Association of Counties, League of California Cities and EMT and paramedic organizations opposed the measure, saying it was unnecessary and could obscure the identities of public agencies contractors are serving.

The measure was approved 23-11 along party lines. Padilla said it would apply a “basic standard of disclosure” to private contractors, and there was no debate or discussion.

If signed by Gov. Jerry Brown, the bill will prohibit contractors from using a public agency’s logo on their uniforms without disclosing that they are contractors.

Capitol Alert staff

Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

David Siders
Brown administration
dsiders@sacbee.com
@davidsiders

Christopher Cadelago
California politics and health care
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Laurel Rosenhall
Legislature, lobbying, higher education
lrosenhall@sacbee.com
@LaurelRosenhall

Jeremy B. White
Legislature
jwhite@sacbee.com
@capitolalert

Alexei Koseff
Insider Edition editor
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

 

Join the Discussion

The Sacramento Bee is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service