Capitol Alert

September 2, 2014

Broken finger on statue in California Capitol rotunda follows late-night coin toss

This much is not in doubt: Sometime Friday or Saturday, part of a finger from the marble statue depicting Queen Isabella and Christopher Columbus in the Capitol rotunda broke off. A tourist discovered the detached digit Saturday afternoon. What remains a mystery is what caused the finger to fall.

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Related content

Comments

 

Videos

Capitol Alert staff


Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

David Siders
Brown administration
dsiders@sacbee.com
@davidsiders

Christopher Cadelago
California politics and health care
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Jeremy B. White
Legislature
jwhite@sacbee.com
@capitolalert

Alexei Koseff
Insider Edition editor
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Editor's Choice Videos