Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Two bananas, one Coke Zero and a gubernatorial debate

09/04/2014 6:14 PM

09/05/2014 12:20 AM

Anti-fracking protesters are assembled outside the old Senator Hotel, a few dozen reporters are seated in the lobby and Neel Kashkari has had a Coke Zero and gone for his run.

The only scheduled debate of this year’s gubernatorial race begins at 7 p.m.

The 60-minute confrontation between Kashkari and Gov. Jerry Brown, the only debate Brown would agree to, comes relatively early in the campaign and coincides with the opening night of the National Football League season.

The timing serves to dampen expectations for widespread viewership, but for Kashkari, an underfunded, little-known Republican, it offers his highest profile platform yet.

Brown’s campaign declined to detail his preparations for the debate. Kashkari said on Twitter on Thursday morning that he ate two bananas and drank a Coke Zero. A photographer took a photograph of him jogging downtown Thursday afternoon.

The debate will be moderated by John Myers, senior editor of KQED’s politics and government desk.

Capitol Alert staff

Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

David Siders
Brown administration
dsiders@sacbee.com
@davidsiders

Christopher Cadelago
California politics and health care
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Laurel Rosenhall
Legislature, lobbying, higher education
lrosenhall@sacbee.com
@LaurelRosenhall

Jeremy B. White
Legislature
jwhite@sacbee.com
@capitolalert

Alexei Koseff
Insider Edition editor
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

 

Join the Discussion

The Sacramento Bee is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service