Paved streets, lamp posts and street and traffic signs wait for new homes at the CalPERS-owned Questa Village subdivision in the town of Mountain House west of Tracy off Highway 205. Carved out of pastureland a few years ago, the peaceful commuter town of Mountain House has become a major challenge for its lead landowner: CalPERS. The pension fund’s investment has lost $926 million of its original $1.2 billion value on paper, making it one of the single largest disasters in CalPERS’ troubled real estate portfolio.
Paved streets, lamp posts and street and traffic signs wait for new homes at the CalPERS-owned Questa Village subdivision in the town of Mountain House west of Tracy off Highway 205. Carved out of pastureland a few years ago, the peaceful commuter town of Mountain House has become a major challenge for its lead landowner: CalPERS. The pension fund’s investment has lost $926 million of its original $1.2 billion value on paper, making it one of the single largest disasters in CalPERS’ troubled real estate portfolio. Manny Crisostomo mcrisostomo@sacbee.com
Paved streets, lamp posts and street and traffic signs wait for new homes at the CalPERS-owned Questa Village subdivision in the town of Mountain House west of Tracy off Highway 205. Carved out of pastureland a few years ago, the peaceful commuter town of Mountain House has become a major challenge for its lead landowner: CalPERS. The pension fund’s investment has lost $926 million of its original $1.2 billion value on paper, making it one of the single largest disasters in CalPERS’ troubled real estate portfolio. Manny Crisostomo mcrisostomo@sacbee.com
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Capitol Alert

Dan Walters: CalPERS may be reforming

October 19, 2015 3:31 PM

Comments

Videos

Advertising

Catherine Bettar
916-321-1083
cbettar@sacbee.com

Capitol Alert staff


Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert