Paul Gann, in this 1983 file photo, was the sponsor of Proposition 4 in 1979. The measure created a state appropriations limit meant to control state spending. The formula was modified in 1990. The limit controls the rate of growth in legislative spending.
Paul Gann, in this 1983 file photo, was the sponsor of Proposition 4 in 1979. The measure created a state appropriations limit meant to control state spending. The formula was modified in 1990. The limit controls the rate of growth in legislative spending. Skip Shuman
Paul Gann, in this 1983 file photo, was the sponsor of Proposition 4 in 1979. The measure created a state appropriations limit meant to control state spending. The formula was modified in 1990. The limit controls the rate of growth in legislative spending. Skip Shuman
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

California Senate’s fiscal outlook hinges on complex spending formula

December 17, 2014 10:07 AM

UPDATED December 17, 2014 11:08 AM

Comments

More Videos

  • ‘We know there are mountains behind that line of smog,’ Cristina Garcia says

    Assemblywoman Cristina Garcia talks about her environmental record at UN climate discussions in Bonn, Germany, on Saturday, Nov. 11, 2017.

Advertising



Catherine Bettar
916-321-1083
cbettar@sacbee.com

Capitol Alert staff



Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
Lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert