The California State Assembly meets for an organizational session where lawmakers took the oath of office on Dec. 1, 2014.
The California State Assembly meets for an organizational session where lawmakers took the oath of office on Dec. 1, 2014. Rich Pedroncelli The Associated Press file
The California State Assembly meets for an organizational session where lawmakers took the oath of office on Dec. 1, 2014. Rich Pedroncelli The Associated Press file
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

AM Alert: California lawmakers’ per diem allowance rises to new peak

January 14, 2016 10:00 PM

UPDATED January 15, 2016 01:23 PM

Comments

More Videos

‘We know there are mountains behind that line of smog,’ Cristina Garcia says 1:23

‘We know there are mountains behind that line of smog,’ Cristina Garcia says

Jerry Brown: Raising minimum wage moral, though 'may not make sense' 0:51

Jerry Brown: Raising minimum wage moral, though 'may not make sense'

A look at the #MeToo movement inside California's Capitol 1:19

A look at the #MeToo movement inside California's Capitol

Antonio Villaraigosa talks about potential foes, Tom Steyer, Eric Garcetti 0:48

Antonio Villaraigosa talks about potential foes, Tom Steyer, Eric Garcetti

Jerry Brown is bringing guest books to California 2:31

Jerry Brown is bringing guest books to California

California senators celebrate historic minimum wage vote 0:53

California senators celebrate historic minimum wage vote

6 things about Calexit – the plan for California to secede from the U.S. 1:34

6 things about Calexit – the plan for California to secede from the U.S.

Calexit? Activist group pushes California secession plan 0:40

Calexit? Activist group pushes California secession plan

See the Sunday fun at Sacramento's Downtown Ice Rink 0:49

See the Sunday fun at Sacramento's Downtown Ice Rink

How to survive an active shooter 3:59

How to survive an active shooter

  • ‘We know there are mountains behind that line of smog,’ Cristina Garcia says

    Assemblywoman Cristina Garcia talks about her environmental record at UN climate discussions in Bonn, Germany, on Saturday, Nov. 11, 2017.

Advertising



Catherine Bettar
916-321-1083
cbettar@sacbee.com

Capitol Alert staff



Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
Lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert