President Obama called Supreme Court Justice Antonin Scalia "a larger-than-life” presence on the Supreme Court. The justice died in February on a ranch near Marfa, Tex. A new poll finds that 64 percent of Californians believe federal appeals court Judge Merrick Garland, Obama’s selection to replace Scalia, should receive Senate confirmation hearings rather than hovering in election-year limbo. Courtesy WhiteHouse.gov
President Obama called Supreme Court Justice Antonin Scalia "a larger-than-life” presence on the Supreme Court. The justice died in February on a ranch near Marfa, Tex. A new poll finds that 64 percent of Californians believe federal appeals court Judge Merrick Garland, Obama’s selection to replace Scalia, should receive Senate confirmation hearings rather than hovering in election-year limbo. Courtesy WhiteHouse.gov
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Capitol Alert

Field Poll: Merrick Garland should get confirmation hearings

April 11, 2016 8:00 PM

Comments

Videos

Advertising

Catherine Bettar
916-321-1083
cbettar@sacbee.com

Capitol Alert staff


Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert