On June 30, 2015, California state Sen. Richard Pan, D-Sacramento, is thanked by Leah Russin, holding her 21-month-old son, Leo, 2, after Pan's bill requiring nearly all school children to be vaccinated was signed by Gov. Jerry Brown. The bill, SB 277, by Pan and Sen. Ben Allen, D-Santa Monica, was introduced after a measles outbreak at Disneyland and will take effect today.
On June 30, 2015, California state Sen. Richard Pan, D-Sacramento, is thanked by Leah Russin, holding her 21-month-old son, Leo, 2, after Pan's bill requiring nearly all school children to be vaccinated was signed by Gov. Jerry Brown. The bill, SB 277, by Pan and Sen. Ben Allen, D-Santa Monica, was introduced after a measles outbreak at Disneyland and will take effect today. Rich Pedroncelli AP
On June 30, 2015, California state Sen. Richard Pan, D-Sacramento, is thanked by Leah Russin, holding her 21-month-old son, Leo, 2, after Pan's bill requiring nearly all school children to be vaccinated was signed by Gov. Jerry Brown. The bill, SB 277, by Pan and Sen. Ben Allen, D-Santa Monica, was introduced after a measles outbreak at Disneyland and will take effect today. Rich Pedroncelli AP
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

AM Alert: Hot-button vaccine rules go into effect

July 01, 2016 06:00 AM

UPDATED July 01, 2016 06:00 AM

Comments

More Videos

  • ‘We know there are mountains behind that line of smog,’ Cristina Garcia says

    Assemblywoman Cristina Garcia talks about her environmental record at UN climate discussions in Bonn, Germany, on Saturday, Nov. 11, 2017.

Advertising



Catherine Bettar
916-321-1083
cbettar@sacbee.com

Capitol Alert staff



Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
Lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert