More Videos

Protesters disrupt Republican Congressman Tom McClintock town hall 1:23

Protesters disrupt Republican Congressman Tom McClintock town hall

California lawmakers tackle Donald Trump and student hunger in resolutions 1:37

California lawmakers tackle Donald Trump and student hunger in resolutions

Bernie Sanders makes 2016 push for drug-pricing measure 1:09

Bernie Sanders makes 2016 push for drug-pricing measure

Here's how California's sanctuary state bill works 1:26

Here's how California's sanctuary state bill works

Villaraigosa talks high-speed rail in Fresno 0:48

Villaraigosa talks high-speed rail in Fresno

California Nurses Association protests shelving of single-payer health care bill 1:27

California Nurses Association protests shelving of single-payer health care bill

'Sanctuary state' bill draws emotional warnings of police distrust, foreign invasion 2:24

'Sanctuary state' bill draws emotional warnings of police distrust, foreign invasion

Placer County homeless increase in latest count 1:16

Placer County homeless increase in latest count

Trump reveals more about The Wall, his meeting with Democratic leaders in DACA statement 0:55

Trump reveals more about The Wall, his meeting with Democratic leaders in DACA statement

Residents worry about garbage, safety along the American River 0:58

Residents worry about garbage, safety along the American River

  • Co-founder of PayPal calls bathroom debate 'distraction from our real problems'

    Peter Thiel, co-founder of PayPal and an openly gay man, spoke at the Republican National Convention in Cleveland Thursday, supporting Donald Trump as his pick for the next president of the United States. Thiel described the bathroom debates as a "distraction from our real problems."

Peter Thiel, co-founder of PayPal and an openly gay man, spoke at the Republican National Convention in Cleveland Thursday, supporting Donald Trump as his pick for the next president of the United States. Thiel described the bathroom debates as a "distraction from our real problems." FedNet
Peter Thiel, co-founder of PayPal and an openly gay man, spoke at the Republican National Convention in Cleveland Thursday, supporting Donald Trump as his pick for the next president of the United States. Thiel described the bathroom debates as a "distraction from our real problems." FedNet
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Silicon Valley billionaire backs Trump, decries ‘fake culture wars’

July 21, 2016 7:17 PM

Comments

Advertising

Catherine Bettar
916-321-1083
cbettar@sacbee.com

Capitol Alert staff


Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert