A renovated mobile home in Malibu overlooking the ocean. Because the original was built before 1980, it is technically classified as a “vehicle” under state law, and so its owner is liable only for a $20 to $50 vehicle license fee.
A renovated mobile home in Malibu overlooking the ocean. Because the original was built before 1980, it is technically classified as a “vehicle” under state law, and so its owner is liable only for a $20 to $50 vehicle license fee. Los Angeles County Assessor’s Office
A renovated mobile home in Malibu overlooking the ocean. Because the original was built before 1980, it is technically classified as a “vehicle” under state law, and so its owner is liable only for a $20 to $50 vehicle license fee. Los Angeles County Assessor’s Office
Shawn Hubler

Shawn Hubler

Deputy editorial page editor, columnist and editorial writer

Tax breaks for Malibu mobile home mansions don’t heal the Bern

May 18, 2016 05:03 PM

UPDATED May 18, 2016 05:36 PM

Comments

More Videos

  • Thirty Seconds Without Trump

    Sunday, along the American River Parkway in Sacramento.

About This Blog


Shawn Hubler has been a reporter and columnist in California for more than three decades. Before joining The Sacramento Bee, she spent 18 years covering local, state and national issues at the Los Angeles Times. Born in Pennsylvania, she has a B.A. in journalism from Penn State. Contact Shawn Hubler at shubler@sacbee.com or 916-321-1907. Twitter: @ShawnHubler.