From: Tucker Warren []
Sent: Wednesday, February 10, 2010 1:32 PM
To: Tucker Warren
Subject: Financial Crisis Inquiry Commission Announces Forum to Explore the Causes of the Financial Crisis

Media Advisory


For Immediate Release                                                           Media Inquiries:

February 10, 2010                                                                   Tucker Warren 202-292-1346



Financial Crisis Inquiry Commission

 Announces Forum to Explore the Causes of the Financial Crisis


(Washington, DC) – After hearing public testimony from leaders of both private and public sector entities in January, the Financial Crisis Inquiry Commission (FCIC), the bi-partisan 10-member panel established by Congress to examine the causes of the crisis, today announced it will bring together experts who have researched the financial crisis for a forum in Washington, DC on February 26-27, 2010 at American University Washington College of Law.


Confirmed participants and the topics they will address include:

Ø  Markus Brunnermeier – derivatives and other complex financial instruments

Edwards S. Sanford Professor of Economics, Princeton University

Ø  John Geanakoplos – risk-taking and leverage

James Tobin Professor of Economics, Yale University

Ø  Gary Gorton – shadow banking

Professor of Finance, School of Management, Yale University

Ø  Pierre-Olivier Gourinchas – macroeconomic factors and U.S. monetary policy

Associate Professor of Economics, University of California, Berkeley

Ø  Dwight Jaffee – government-sponsored enterprises and housing policy

Willis Booth Professor of Banking, Finance, and Real Estate, Co-Chair, Fisher Center for Real Estate and Urban Economics, University of California, Berkeley

Ø  Anil Kashyap – firm structure and risk management

Edward Eagle Brown Professor of Economics and Finance and Richard N. Rosett Faculty Fellow, University of Chicago

Ø  Randall S. Kroszner – interconnectedness of financial institutions and “too big to fail”

Norman R. Bobins Professor of Economics, University of Chicago

Ø  Annamaria Lusardi – households’ finances and financial literacy

Joel Z. and Susan Hyatt Professor of Economics, Dartmouth University; Research Associate at the National Bureau of Economic Research

Ø  Chris Mayer – mortgage lending practices and securitization

Paul Milstein Professor of Real Estate, Columbia University; Visiting Scholar at the Federal Reserve Bank of New York and Research Associate at the National Bureau of Economic Research


The economists will present working papers to the Commissioners on the key issues and events leading up to the crisis and its underlying causes. The presentations will be followed by discussion with the Commissioners.


This forum is a part of the Commission’s ongoing efforts to hear from academic experts and economists on issues related to the crisis. The Commission has already met with Martin Baily, Simon Johnson, David Moss, Carmen M. Reinhart, Kenneth T. Rosen, Hal S. Scott, Joseph E. Stiglitz, John B. Taylor, Mark Zandi and Luigi Zingales.


In addition to these efforts, the Commission will hold a series of public hearings throughout the year as part of its inquiry.


Preliminary Event Details:




About the Financial Crisis Inquiry Commission (FCIC)

The bi-partisan 10-member Financial Crisis Inquiry Commission was created by Congress and is charged with examining the causes of the financial meltdown.  It is also examining causes of the collapse of major financial institutions that failed or would likely have failed had they not received exceptional government assistance.  The Commission is comprised of Chairman Phil Angelides, Vice Chairman Bill Thomas, and Commissioners Brooksley Born, Byron Georgiou, Robert Graham, Keith Hennessey, Doug Holtz-Eakin, Heather Murren, John W. Thompson, and Peter Wallison.  Findings and conclusions are to be presented in a formal report to Congress and the President by December 15, 2010. For more, visit


Tucker Warren
Communications Deputy
Financial Crisis Inquiry Commission
Phone: 202-292-1346
Mobile: 202-507-3237