From: Beneva Schulte []
Sent: Wednesday, December 23, 2009 12:11 PM
To: Beneva Schulte
Subject: Financial Crisis Inquiry Commission Announces Partial Witness List for First Hearing


For Immediate Release                                                         Media Inquiries:

December 23, 2009                                                                Beneva Schulte 202-292-1343



Financial Crisis Inquiry Commission

 Announces Partial Witness List for First Hearing


(Washington, DC) – The Financial Crisis Inquiry Commission (FCIC), the bi-partisan 10-member panel established by Congress to examine the causes of the financial crisis, today announced a partial list of witnesses for its first public hearing.


Confirmed attendees include: Lloyd C. Blankfein, Chairman of the Board and CEO, Goldman Sachs Group, Inc.; Jamie Dimon, Chairman of the Board and CEO, JPMorgan Chase & Company; and John J. Mack, Chairman of the Board, Morgan Stanley.  Expected, but yet to be confirmed, is Brian Moynihan, Chief Executive Officer and President, Bank of America Corporation as of January 1, 2010.


Chairman Phil Angelides and Vice Chairman Bill Thomas issued the following statement: “The Commission is charged with undertaking a thorough inquiry on behalf of the American people.  We will be taking testimony from hundreds of individuals as we investigate the causes of the financial crisis.  In that vein and for our first hearing, we have requested the appearance of these and other top leaders in the public and private sector.  We look forward to their testimony.”


The first hearing – Causes and Current State of the Financial Crisis – will take place on Wednesday, January 13 and Thursday, January 14, 2010 at 1100 Longworth House Office Building, commencing at 10:00.  This hearing will be the first in a series to be held throughout 2010.


FCIC Background: The bi-partisan 10-member Financial Crisis Inquiry Commission was created by Congress and is charged with examining the causes of the financial meltdown.  It is also examining causes of the collapse of major financial institutions that failed or would likely have failed had they not received exceptional government assistance.  The Commission is comprised of Chairman Phil Angelides, Vice Chairman Bill Thomas, and Commissioners Brooksley Born, Byron Georgiou, Robert Graham, Keith Hennessey, Doug Holtz-Eakin, John W. Thompson, and Peter Wallison.  Findings and conclusions are to be presented in a formal report to Congress and the President by December 15, 2010.