Capitol Alert

Special elections loom for California Senate

Former Assemblyman Isadore Hall, D-Compton, during the first day of session at the Capitol on Dec. 3, 2012.
Former Assemblyman Isadore Hall, D-Compton, during the first day of session at the Capitol on Dec. 3, 2012.

A day after terming out of the Assembly, Compton Democrat Isadore Hall returned to Sacramento on Monday, sitting in the back of the Senate chambers and then hitting the town to mix it up with past colleagues and interest group representatives.

Hall, his staff clarified, was merely a civilian: “Citizen Hall,” they called him. But that title is unlikely to last more than a few days.

On Tuesday, he is the heavy favorite to succeed former Sen. Rod Wright to represent Los Angeles’ 35th Senate District. The special election that features two other Democrats and a Republican is the first of at least four planned for the coming months. Other openings will occur when Sens. Mark DeSaulnier, D-Concord, Steve Knight, R-Palmdale, and Mimi Walters, R-Laguna Niguel, take their seats in Congress in early January.

Below is a look at the 35th district race, as well as the candidates, or those said to be considering runs for the other seats:

35th Senate District (Los Angeles)

Democrat Louis L. Dominguez, retired teacher

Democrat Isadore Hall, III, former asemblyman

Democrat Hector Serrano, harbor planning commissioner

Republican James Spencer, businessman

7th Senate District (East Bay Area)

Democrat Susan Bonilla, assemblywoman

Democrat Joan Buchanan, former assemblywoman

Democrat Steve Glazer, Orinda councilman and adviser to Gov. Jerry Brown

Republican Mark Meuser, civil litigation attorney

21st Senate District (Northern Los Angeles County-High Desert)

Republican Dante Acosta, Santa Clarita councilman

Republican Sal Chavez, businessman

Republican Marvin Crist, Lancaster vice mayor

Republican Tim Donnelly, former assemblyman/businessman

Democrat Johnathon Ervin, senior engineer

Republican Sandra Johnson, Lancaster councilwoman

Republican John Kunak, former Castaic Area Town councilman

Republican Jim Ledford, Palmdale mayor

Democrat Star Moffatt, legal office manager

Republican R. Rex Parris, Lancaster mayor

Republican Sharon Runner, former assemblywoman and senator

Republican Eric Schmidt, Hesperia mayor pro tem

Republican Scott Wilk, assemblyman

37th Senate District (Orange County)

Republican John Moorlach, Orange County supervisor

Republican Don Wagner, assemblyman

Call Christopher Cadelago, Bee Capitol Bureau, (916) 326-5538. Follow him on Twitter @ccadelago.