San Francisco 49ers

Notes on the 49ers’ first depth chart of 2015

The 49ers released the first depth chart of 2015 in advance of Saturday’s preseason opener. Jim Tomsula warned that it’s a fluid chart and that it shouldn’t be taken as gospel.

As someone who’s watched every practice from start to finish, I can attest that it’s largely accurate. But here are a few notes:

* I would put Arik Armstead ahead of Kaleb Ramsey at left defensive end. Ramsey has been dealing with a shoulder injury while Armstead has stood out at times in nearly every practice. Look for Armstead at left end and Lawrence Okoye at right end during the second half Saturday.

* Marcus Martin isn’t listed at center, but there are scenarios open in which he could be the starting center -- with Brandon Thomas or Ian Silberman at right guard -- for Week 1. Still, he mostly has played right guard this spring and summer.

* Nickel cornerback is not listed. Brock has been playing there with Dontae Johnson entering the game on the outside. Keith Reaser has been lining up at nickel with the second-team defense.

* Meanwhile, Anquan Boldin plays a lot of slot receiver just as he did last year. DeAndrew White also has spent a lot of time in the slot.

* With Philip Wheeler nursing an injury, look for Shayne Skov and Desmond Bishop to come in with the second-team unit. Then again, coaches might want Nick Moody to get extra reps after NaVorro Bowman makes an anticipated quick exit.

* Reggie Bush is listed as the first-team punt and kick returner. It’s unlikely he gets a lot -- or any -- work there in the preseason. With Bruce Ellington dealing with a minor injury, look for White, Jarryd Hayne and Mario Hull to bring back punts.

* Jimmie Ward (foot) has not been on the field at all during the team portions of training camp.


Wide receiver: Anquan Boldin, Quinton Patton, Bruce Ellington, DeAndrew White, Isaac Blakeney, DiAndre Campbell, Nigel King

Left tackle: Joe Staley, Patrick Miller, Sean Hooey

Left guard: Alex Boone, Andrew Tiller

Center: Joe Looney, Ian Silberman, Dillon Farrell

Right guard: Marcus Martin, Brandon Thomas

Right tackle: Erik Pears, Trent Brown, Justin Renfrow

Tight end: Vernon Davis, Vance McDonald, Derek Carrier, Garrett Celek, Blake Bell, Asante Cleveland, Xavier Grimble

Wide receiver: Torrey Smith, Jerome Simpson, Chuck Jacobs, Dres Anderson, Mario Hull

Fullback: Bruce Miller, Trey Millard

Running back: Carlos Hyde, Reggie Bush, Kendall Hunter, Mike Davis, Jarryd Hayne, Kendall Gaskins

Quarterback: Colin Kaepernick, Blaine Gabbert, Dylan Thompson



Left defensive end: Glenn Dorsey, Tony Jerod-Eddie, Darnell Dockett, Kaleb Ramsey, Arik Armstead

Nose tackle: Ian Williams, Mike Purcell, Garrison Smith

Right defensive end: Quinton Dial, Tank Carradine, Lawrence Okoye

Left outside linebacker: Ahmad Brooks, Aaron Lynch, Marcus Rush

Inside linebacker: NaVorro Bowman, Shane Skov, Desmond Bishop

Inside linebacker: Nick Moody, Philip Wheeler, Steve Beauharnais

Right outside linebacker: Corey Lemonier, Eli Harold, Shawn Lemon

Left cornerback: Tramaine Brock, Dontae Johnson, Keith Reaser, Mylan Hicks

Right cornerback: Shareece Wright, Marcus Cromartie, Kenneth Acker, Leon McFadden

Free safety: Eric Reid, Jimmie Ward, Jaquiski Tartt, Jermaine Whitehead

Strong safety: Antoine Bethea, Craig Dahl, L.J. McCray


Special teams

Punter: Bradley Pinion

Kicker: Phil Dawson, Corey Acosta

Holder: Bradley Pinion

Punt return: Reggie Bush, Bruce Ellington, Jarryd Hayne

Kick return: Reggie Bush, DeAndrew White, Mario Hull

Long snapper: Kyle Nelson

Matt Barrows: @mattbarrows, read more about the team at