Local

Want to volunteer for MLK Day of Service? Here’s how

Organizations across the country are taking part in the National Day of Service, in celebration of Martin Luther King Jr.’s legacy, the same day as the King federal holiday on Jan. 19, 2015.

According to the federal agency Corporation for National & Community Service, the day calls for Americans from all walks of life to work together to provide solutions to the most pressing national problems.

Some organizations are hosting events the weekend prior.

Here is a list of some volunteering opportunities taking place in the Sacramento region, as reported by UC Davis and the city of Sacramento:

8th Annual Hats, Scarves & Gloves Drive

Jan. 12-16: The city’s Department of Parks and Recreation and Zeta Phi Beta sorority’s Kappa Psi Zeta chapter are collecting hats, scarves and gloves at the George Sim Community Center in Sacramento, 10 a.m. to 8 p.m., Community service credit and day of event service hours may be available. Contact: Viancia Roberson, vroberson@cityofsacramento.org

Discovery Museum landscape project

Jan. 17 (register by midnight, Jan. 15): Remove weeds and spread mulch at the Discovery Museum, Science & Space Center in Sacramento. 8:30 a.m. to 12 p.m. Contact: Susan Douglas, (916) 808-3942, sdouglas@powerhousesc.org

Distribute flyers for free tax preparation for qualified families

Jan. 17: The Sacramento Coalition for Working Families will connect qualified families with free tax preparation. 8:30 a.m. to 12 p.m.

Airport Little League Park cleanup

Jan. 17: Help with landscaping the park and upkeep in preparation for softball season. Remove weeds, rake debris, and remove mud and dirt. Wear closed-toe shoes and dress appropriately for the weather. 9 a.m. to 12 p.m. Contact: Angela Fisher, (916) 803-2904, afisher@cityofsacramento.org

Heidrick Ag History Center expo preparation

Jan. 17-18 (register by midnight, Jan. 15): Organize, clean and dust the museum in preparation for the Yolo Outdoor Expo. Both days: 9 a.m. to 1 p.m., 1 p.m. to 5 p.m. Contact: Kristina Fong, (530) 666-9700, membership@aghistory.org

Tree harvest in Davis

Jan. 17 (register by midnight, Jan. 15): Join the Community Harvest of Davis in harvesting 100 tangelo trees and donating the fruit to the Yolo Food Bank. 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. Contact: Joe Schwartz, (530) 759-9792, jlschwar@pacbell.net

Community garden rain barrel preparation

Jan. 17: Sacramento Department of Parks and Recreation’s Community Garden Program and Java City will teach volunteers about rain barrels. Volunteers will learn how to install them, help affix gutters and prepare Fremont Community Garden at 14th and Q streets. 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Please sign up online. Contact: William Maynard, wmaynard@cityofsacramento.org

Children’s art project

Jan. 17 (register by midnight, Jan. 15): Next Move, formerly the Sacramento Area Emergency Housing Center, needs volunteers to help the family shelter’s children paint, draw and color art promoting a drug-free lifestyle. 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. Volunteers are invited to donate poster boards and art supplies. Contact: Catrina Robin, (916) 496-6426, crobin@nextmovesacramento.org

Egret Park beautification

Jan. 18: Vice Mayor Angelique Ashby will be at Egret Park, meeting with volunteers for a park beautification project. Volunteers are asked to bring gloves and tools if available, and to wear pants and closed-toe shoes. 1 p.m. to 4 p.m. Contact: Elena Quintero, equintero@cityofsacramento.org

Bill Bean Community Garden landscaping

Jan. 19: Winterize the garden, plant fruit trees, remove weeds and move mulch with fellow volunteers and community garden expert William Maynard. 9 a.m. to 12 p.m. Contact: William Maynard, wmaynard@cityofsacramento.org

William Land Park care

Jan. 19: Volunteers will remove twigs, branches, trash and leaves, and clear gutters at William Land Park. Volunteers are asked to wear closed-toe shoes and clothes appropriate for the weather. 9 a.m. to 12 p.m. Contact: Angela Fisher, (916) 803-2904, afisher@cityofsacramento.org

Educational material preparation

Jan. 19 (register by midnight, Jan. 15): Volunteers will assemble material for A Touch of Understanding that is given to students who attend a disability awareness program. 9 a.m. to 12 p.m., 1 p.m. to 3 p.m. Contact: Jeneane Stover, (916) 223-3676, jstover@touchofunderstanding.org

Holiday cleanup and gift sorting

Jan. 19: Help sort toys, clothes and gifts in preparation for transport to the Children's Receiving Home. 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. Contact: Kellie Dockendorf, kdockendorf@crhkids.org

Wakamatsu Farm help

Jan. 19: Help weed and restore the land at Wakamatsu Tea and Silk Colony Farm near Lotus. 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Contact: Cordi, (530) 621-1224, cordi@arconservancy.org

Food bank distribution assistance

Jan. 19 (register by midnight, Jan. 15): Help clients choose and bag groceries at River City Food Bank. Volunteers may also help stock items, clean and organize. 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. Contact: Jena Robinson, (407) 421-7934, jrobinson@rivercityfoodbank.org

Shelter organization and cleaning

Jan. 19 (register by midnight, Jan. 15): Help organize and clean Empower Yolo. 1 p.m. to 4 p.m. Contact: Mayra Martinez, (530) 759-7530, mayra@empoweryolo.org

Paint the Francis House of Sacramento

Jan. 19 (register by midnight, Jan. 15): Paint two offices at the Francis House headquarters. 12 p.m. to 4 p.m. Contact: Pat Pitzer, (916) 443-2646 ext. 308, pat@francishousecenter.org

  Comments