Crime - Sacto 911

Fireworks prohibited in Placer County’s unincorporated areas

Placer County officials remind residents and visitors that fireworks of all types and sizes are illegal in unincorporated areas of the county.

The prohibition applies to rural areas that are not within the boundaries of an incorporated city or town. It also applies to unincorporated communities such as Penryn, Newcastle, North Auburn, Granite Bay, Meadow Vista, Foresthill, Tahoe City and Kings Beach.

Anyone caught violating the fireworks ban could be charged with a misdemeanor and face a fine of up to $2,000 per violation, according to a county news release.

“Extreme drought conditions make the fire dangers extremely high this year, and we want to remind all citizens that fireworks are a common cause of summer fires,” John McEldowney, program manager with the Placer County Officer of Emergency Services, said in a written statement.

Some cities within Placer County allow the sale and use of “safe and sane” fireworks. People are advised to contact city offices to find out whether a particular city permits fireworks.

In unincorporated areas, officials said, the only exception to the fireworks ban is when a agency or individual requests and receives a permit from the county to hold a fireworks display operated by a professional pyrotechnics company. Requests must be submitted at least 30 days before proposed display dates.