Dream players win two World TeamTennis postseason awards

The California Dream’s Anabel Medina Garrigues and Neal Skupski were among five players who received World TeamTennis postseason awards Friday.

Garrigues shared the women’s MVP award with Anastasia Rodionova of the Washington Kastles. Skupski was named men’s Rookie of the Year.

The Austin Aces’ Teymuraz Gabashvili is the men’s MVP and teammate Alla Kudryavtseva is the women’s Rookie of the Year. Rick Leach of the Austin Aces was named Coach of the Year.

Garrigues, last season’s Rookie of the Year with the Texas Wild, was the top mixed doubles player, winning 57 of 91 games (.606) playing with Skupski and Mike and Bob Bryan. She also won 56 of her 112 women’s doubles games with Jarka Gajdosova.

Skupski won 46 of the 80 mixed doubles games he played with Garrigues.

The Kastles host the Aces in the WTT championship on Sunday.