College Sports

Sac State’s DeAndre Carter is lone unanimous All-Big Sky Conference football first-team selection

Sacramento State wide receiver DeAndre Carter and kicker Brad Cornish, along with UC Davis offensive lineman Ian Joseph, were named to the All-Big Sky Conference first team, it was announced Tuesday.

Carter, one of 14 Hornets who received Big Sky honors, was the only unanimous selection and made the Big Sky first team for the second consecutive year. The senior led the Football Championship Subdivision with 1,321 yards and 17 receiving touchdowns. His 99 receptions also led the FCS and ranked second in Big Sky history.

Cornish, a sophomore, made 14 of 17 field-goal attempts and 56 of 59 extra-point attempts to finish with 98 points, the most ever by a Sac State kicker.

Joseph, a senior from El Dorado High School, started 45 consecutive games at left tackle for the Aggies, including 11 this season while accumulating 18 knockdowns. He was one of 10 Aggies to receive Big Sky recognition.

Making the second team from Sac State were quarterback Garrett Safron, defensive end Jaycee Totty, wide receiver Nnamdi Agude and linebacker Darnell Sankey. Hornets offensive linemen Aleksandar Milanovic and Derek Nielsen and defensive back Robbie Kendall were on the third team.

Voted to the third team from UC Davis was running back Gabe Manzanares, the Big Sky Newcomer of the Year last season.

Aggies who earned honorable mention were quarterback Ben Scott, wide receiver Ramon Vargas, center Parker Smith, tight end Mark Martindale, fullback Dalton Turay, linebacker Steven Pitts, safety Charles Boyett and punter Colby Wadman.

Hornets honorable mentions were tight end Chris Broadnax, running back Jordan Robinson, linebacker Henry Fernandez, defensive end Ben Cowger and special-teams player Russell Smith, a Del Oro High product who also played linebacker.

Cal Poly defensive tackle Marcus Paige-Allen from Sheldon made the third team, and Mustangs defensive end Josh Letuligasenoa from Elk Grove and center Stephen Sippel from Folsom received honorable mention.

Eastern Washington junior quarterback Vernon Adams Jr. was voted the Offensive Player of the Year for the second consecutive season, and Montana senior defensive end Zack Wagenmann was the Defensive Player of the Year. Junior quarterback Ammon Olsen of Southern Utah was the Newcomer of the Year and Idaho State linebacker Mario Jenkins the Freshman of the Year.

Call The Bee’s Bill Paterson, (916) 326-5506.