Joe Davidson

Sac-Joaquin Section baseball, softball playoffs start this week

The Sac-Joaquin Section baseball and softball playoffs kick off this week.

In baseball, Division I North at Sacramento City College includes top-seeded Oak Ridge, No. 2 Jesuit, No. 3 Elk Grove and No. 4 Vintage.

Elk Grove and Jesuit, tri-champions of the Delta League with Franklin, open Wednesday. Oak Ridge and Vintage open Thursday.

In Division II at American River College, the top seeds are No. 1 Roseville, No. 2 Vanden, No. 3 Antelope and No. 4 Sacramento.

In Division III at McAuliffe Memorial Ballparks next to Sacramento State, top-seeded Woodland, No. 2 Sierra-Manteca, No. 3 Christian Brothers and No. 4 Vista del Lago are the favorites.

Softball upper divisions compete at the Sacramento Softball Complex. Division I, which begins Thursday, is headed by top-seeded Woodcreek and No. 2 Sheldon.

Division II, also at the complex, starts Wednesday. Defending champion and top seed Benicia and No. 2 Elk Grove, The Bee’s top-ranked team, lead the field.

Grand finale – Coach Guy Anderson will make his final appearance wearing Cordova’s colors at McAuliffe on June 6, when he coaches the Optimist All-Star Small-School team. Anderson was fired Friday after 45 years coaching the Lancers, who won a Northern California-record 927 games. He also coached 11 future major leaguers, including Chris Bosio, Geoff Jenkins and Max Venable. Cordova was 6-21 this season.

All-State basketball – Folsom guard Jordan Ford, The Bee’s boys basketball Player of the Year, and Pleasant Grove’s Marquese Chriss, a first-team center on The Bee’s All-Metro team, were named to the Cal-Hi Sports All-State second team.

Ford and Chriss also made the Cal-Hi Sports Division I first team. Woodcreek freshman center Jordan Brown made the Division I second team. Cordova guard Jordan Roberson, the section scoring leader, made the Division III team, and Capital Christian guard Justice Shelton-Mosley was named to the Division IV team.

For the girls, McClatchy center Gigi Garcia, The Bee’s Bee Player of the Year, landed on Cal-Hi’s All-State third team and Division I first team. McClatchy guard Lauren Nubla made the Division I second team. Del Oro forward Lauren Heyn (Division II first team), Placer center Baylee Vanderdoes (Division III first team) and Bradshaw Christian guard Erika Bean and forward Jordyn Bell (Division IV first team) also were honored.

CIF All-Century Team – The California Interscholastic Federation’s 100th Anniversary Spring All-Century Team, based on online voting, includes swimmer Debbie Meyer of Rio Americano, 1969; sprinter Evelyn Ashford of Roseville, 1975; runner Mark Mastalir of Jesuit, 1986; swimmer Summer Sanders of Oakmont, 1990; and baseball players Derrek Lee of El Camino, 1993, and J.P. Howell of Jesuit, 2001. For the fall and winter All-Century teams, visit

CIF winners – The CIF Spirt of Sport Award winners for the winter and spring seasons from the Sac-Joaquin Section are Rocklin’s Kaitlyn Solomon (girls basketball and softball) and Rio Linda’s Caleb Druckhammer (football, soccer, track and field).


Check out the latest high school results from around the region every day online.


Area baseball and softball coaches can players for The Bee’s All-Metro baseball and softball teams. E-mail and include stats and comments.