Malalai Rafi, center, grieves for her husband Mustafa Rafi, who was struck by a car and killed while riding his bike on Sunday in Sacramento. Two of their four children, Imran, 6, and daughter Mariam, 13, support their mother along with community members at the Muslim Mosque Association on Tuesday in Sacramento. Rafi’s son, Omar, 8, was injured and remains in intensive care.
Malalai Rafi, center, grieves for her husband Mustafa Rafi, who was struck by a car and killed while riding his bike on Sunday in Sacramento. Two of their four children, Imran, 6, and daughter Mariam, 13, support their mother along with community members at the Muslim Mosque Association on Tuesday in Sacramento. Rafi’s son, Omar, 8, was injured and remains in intensive care. Paul Kitagaki Jr. pkitagaki@sacbee.com
Malalai Rafi, center, grieves for her husband Mustafa Rafi, who was struck by a car and killed while riding his bike on Sunday in Sacramento. Two of their four children, Imran, 6, and daughter Mariam, 13, support their mother along with community members at the Muslim Mosque Association on Tuesday in Sacramento. Rafi’s son, Omar, 8, was injured and remains in intensive care. Paul Kitagaki Jr. pkitagaki@sacbee.com
Sacto 911

Sacto 911

Covering crime, police and courts in the Sacramento region

Hundreds mourn Afghan refugee killed in Sacramento while biking

July 14, 2015 06:07 PM

UPDATED July 15, 2015 07:53 AM

Comments

More Videos

  • 'It's a little unsettling': Black Friday shopper reacts to armed robbery in Folsom

    Caitlyn Burke, 30, who was raised in Folsom and now lives in San Francisco, comments on the early Friday robbery at the Palldio at Broadstone center.

Sacto 911 Staff



Nashelly Chavez
nchavez@sacbee.com
@nashellytweets

Benjy Egel
begel@sacbee.com
@BenjyEgel

Cathy Locke
clocke@sacbee.com

Anthony Sorci
asorci@sacbee.com

Darrell Smith
Superior Court
dvsmith@sacbee.com
@dvaughnsmith

More Sacto 911



Crimemapper

Send news tips

Sign up for breaking news alerts

Arrest Logs

Crime Q&A

Sacramento Bee reporter Cathy Locke answers your questions about crime news, trends and issues. Look up specific cases using Arrest Logs and Sacramento Superior Courts case database.

Submit your question